Home > Baby > Baby Safety..what no one ever told me!

Baby Safety..what no one ever told me!

I started to write this post several times today and got distracted (errands,lunch,nap,dinner)! Ed and I went to a baby safety class yesterday and really we just wanted the free gifts. I honestly thought that I knew what was safe for my baby..I mean it’s common sense right…wrong. I will start off with the most shocking and work myself to the least!

The first thing was CRIBS. I knew some things but did you know that all cribs now a days are made with plastic pieces holding them together? Are you kidding plastic is cheap and it fails. I thought that my Pottery Barn crib was not made with plastics and of course it wouldn’t be Recalled. The government requires companies to report recalls but they can still sell the items. My beloved expense pottery barn crib was recalled but still on sale. When you go to buy the crib it doesn’t say it’s recalled but if you go to safety recalls at the bottom of the web page and search recalled items its pictured. WTF? I was furious and the crib was returned. I can’t believe that they would sell a recalled item to the public! The recall eggs,milk, and meat and take it out of the store but you can go into any baby store and get a recalled crib. Apparently, it is up to the parents to check each baby item purchased and see if it is recalled. I thought that if it was in the store then it was safe..WRONG. If you are pregnant and purchased items please check the company it see if it is recalled and why. My crib caused the following things: Entrapment, Suffocation or Fall Hazard. To make matters worse 4 out of 19 cribs are still being sold. Also I didn’t know that all the bedding..I mean all but the sheets have to come off to put the newborn baby in. What? I’m working hard for this nursery to look pretty and I have to strip down the bedding? Another thing that I wouldn’t have taken off without this class. I knew no pillows but no bumper pads… nothing but sheets and your baby. (Check the American Academy of Peds website) I will add if you live in Cali or Washington state you have a lot more regulations on crib sales.(lucky y’all)! There is a lot more safety info so if you are interested just message me because I could write a book!

The next thing is car seats. What I didn’t know is that you can’t carry the seat by the handle past 10lbs. Why you ask? Because it’s plastic,that’s why! Plastics expand and contract and weaken after use. I see mom’s everyday carry a baby that is way bigger than 10lbs by that handle and if they knew it could break and there child could be injured then I doubt they would do it. I am not one to read any fine print of anything so..I would have missed that IF it’s even written in the instruction manual. Also car seats come if an expiration date! Yes..if you have a car seat with NO expiration date then it’s expired. I will update you to tell you if my brand new seat has one! The woman next to me was on her 2nd child and said that her seat has one.

The next thing is Baby walkers. Honestly I thought those things went extinct..haha but apparently the US is the only country who still makes and purchases these walkers. Canada has outlawed it and you can get something like 100k fine and jail time if you are caught with it over the border or in your house. Many groups (pediatric,medical etc) have been trying to outlaw baby walkers since 1992. I’m not going to go into to much detail with this but basically it hinders your child’s ability to actual walk by causing improper muscle development. It can also cause bowleggedness and pigeon-toedness. I never wanted these things but why risk these things anyways! The same thing also happens with the baby saucers (it was the companies trying to solve issue that baby walkers caused). The baby saucers can foster bad posture and weaken back and stomach muscles and even delay walking. They also have a disclaimer or warning that says the baby can only be in the walker or saucer for 20 min a day. (It is not a babysitter) Again..I thought those things were stupid so I wasn’t going to buy another $100-$200 toy to take up space!

The last thing…is High Chairs! It’s basically a baby death trap! They are again made of plastics and can tip over due to the high center of gravity. Also kids get out of them!

Finally of course with all this free safety they have to sell you something. I am the first ones to walk out when people start selling but I still wanted that free gift. The baby safety course endorsed 2 companies that do a great job and baby safety and have had no RECALLS EVER! The first one is Babee Tenda. We purchased the crib and this cute feeding table. The company was founded in 1937 and is made in the good old USA!! I love supporting american made goods and it has had no safety issues ever! The design is the same as it was in the 30’s so it’s not as cute as some of those plastic devices but I am happy to know my child is safe. I encourage you to look at the site but unfortunately you can’t purchase on their website :(. There is a contact form that you can ask them who you can purchase from. Amazon and yahoo do sell them but we paid WAY less than what was listed. $599 for the crib WITH mattress and $350 for the table. Also another good thing to purchase is the Baby monitor by hi-sense. It comes with 2 pads that go under the sheets or one for the bassinet. These pads detect your baby’s movement and heart rate. The alarm goes off if you baby’s heart beat is less than 20 bpm (not sure if this is exact) or there is no movement within 20 sec or 10 micro movements per min. I had never heard of this company and we did register for a product like this but the pad is so small. This is nice because they are large and cover the crib down the middle.

I hope that you learned something that you didn’t know! I know everyone wants what is best for your baby! Check your products and make sure they are not recalled. It is up to us as parents to be on top of this! Happy New Year everyone!

Categories: Baby
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

